Withdrawal (con’t)

Still fiddling with my psych meds. Have tried dropping Seroquel to 75 mg from 100 mg a few times but my anxiety, irritability, panic were too bad.  My dad is ill and quite disabled and I’m trying to help my mom care for him and it’s getting very stressful. I’ve decided I’m going to increase my clonazepam to 0.5mg 3x a day, which is double what I’m on now, but still half of what I was on. I kinda hate to do that because I’ve been working so dam hard to wean myself off this stuff, but I’m just too stressed.  I will drop it again and eventually go off it entirely when things calm down a bit. 
Then, with the boosted clonazepam, I plan to drop the seroquel to 50 mg, 25 at noon, 25 mg at night, and see if my nerves are ok that way. Then I will try no seroquel, just clonazepam.  If I find I still need a mood stabilizer,  I am going to talk to my Dr. about switching over to topimax. It’s an anti-seizure drug that also acts as a mood stabilizer, and unlike Seroquel, most people lose weight while on it, not pack on 35 lbs like most people do on seroquel.
So, I’m going to play around a bit and hope I don’t totally fuck myself up. Wish me luck and please let me know if you have any experience with topimax. Thanks.

2 comments on “Withdrawal (con’t)

  1. I wish you the best and will say a prayer for you.

    I found your blog by searching for the “Seroquel” tag because I’m looking for others who might have had the same experience as me. I struggled to wean myself off of Seroquel, which I finally did in July and was fine for about 6 weeks but then starting experiencing strange and unexplainable symptoms which I’m convinced were due to the Seroquel withdrawal. I seem to be getting better, but the past year has pretty much been a nightmare for me.

    If I had to do it over again I would do it under a doctor’s supervision. But I understand how psychiatrists refuse to wean people off (they say they’re concerned about your mental health but really it’s all about the $$$).

    But anyway, I wish you all the best and hope everything goes smoothly for you.

Leave a Reply

